Apply for Available MLA Grants & Scholarships

The Medical Library Association (MLA) offers a variety of grants and scholarships to assist qualified students in graduate library science programs and to enable practicing health sciences librarians to take advantage of opportunities for continuing professional development. The deadline for applications is December 1, unless otherwise noted.

For eligibility requirements, applications, and information about grants and scholarships, please go to Applications can be submitted electronically this year using the provided forms. If you have specific questions about any of the grants or scholarships, please contact the jury chairs listed below. Contact information is available in the August 18, 2011 MLA-FOCUS message (available at or through the MLA member directory.

  • Continuing Education Awards 2011/2012 Jury Chair: Peggy Gross, AHIP

Award can be used to develop one’s knowledge of the theoretical, administrative,  or technical aspects of librarianship and may be used either for MLA courses or for other CE activities.

  •  Cunningham Memorial International Grants 2011/2012 Jury Chair: Lydia Collins

Instead of the traditional Cunningham Memorial International Fellowship, for 2013 only, grants of up to $2,000 are being awarded for medical librarians outside of the United States and Canada to attend the combined MLA ’13, 11th International Congress on Medical Librarianship (ICML), 7th International Conference of Animal Health Information Specialists (ICAHIS), and 6th International Clinical Librarian Conference (ICLC) May 2013 meeting in Boston, MA.

  •  EBSCO/MLA Annual Meeting Grants 2011/2012 Jury Chair: Pamela Sherwill-Navarro, AHIP

These $1,000 grants enable MLA members to attend the association’s annual meeting. Hospital Libraries Section/MLA

  •  Professional Development Grant 2011/2012 Jury Chair: Steven Douglas, AHIP

Provides up to $800 to support a librarian working in a hospital or similar clinical setting for educational or research activities.

  •  David A. Kronick Traveling Fellowship 2011/2012 Jury Chair: Patricia M. Weiss

Provides $2,000 to an experienced librarian to support travel and research promoting excellence in health sciences librarianship. The award covers expenses for traveling to 3 or more medical libraries in the United States or Canada for the purpose of studying a specific aspect of health information management.

  •  Donald A. B. Lindberg Research Fellowship.   Application deadline is November 15 2011/2012 Jury Chair: Brian P. Bunnett, AHIP

The $10,000 grant funds research aimed at expanding the research knowledgebase, linking the information services provided by librarians to improved health care and advances in biomedical research.

  •  Medical Informatics Section/MLA Career Development Grant 2011/2012 Jury Chair: Ruicha Mishra, AHIP

Provides an award of $1,500 to support a career development activity that contributes to advancement in the field of medical informatics.

  • MLA Research, Development, and Demonstration Project Grant 2011/2012 Jury Chair: Ellie Bushhousen, AHIP

The up to $1,000 grant supports projects that will promote excellence in the field of health sciences librarianship and information sciences.

  • MLA Scholarship 2011/2012 Jury Chair: Dottie M. Hawthorne, AHIP

Provides up to $5,000 to a student who shows excellence in scholarship and potential for accomplishment in health sciences librarianship. Applicants must be citizens of or have permanent residence in either the United States or Canada.

  • MLA Scholarship for Minority Students 2011/2012 Jury Chair: Latrina Keith

Provides up to $5,000 to a minority student in a master’s program at an American Library Association–accredited library school or has yet to finish at least one half of the program’s requirements in the year following the granting of the scholarship. African American, Hispanic, Asian American, Native American, or Pacific Islander American individuals who wish to study health sciences librarianship are eligible.

  • Thomson/MLA Reuters Doctoral Fellowship 2011/2012 Jury Chair: Gail Y. Hendler

This $2,000 fellowship fosters and encourages superior students to conduct doctoral work in an area of health sciences librarianship or information sciences and to provide support to individuals who have been admitted to doctoral candidacy. The award supports research or travel applicable to the candidate’s study within a 12-month period. The award may not be used for tuition.


Leave a Reply